top of page

The Files

Welcome to the files! Here is where you'll find all of my posts.

Why I want to be a Journalist

The other day, I was in an uber with some friends and our driver let on that he used to take photographs for a local newspaper. I told him that I was a Journalism major, thinking it would lead to an interesting conversation, as he had just retired from the business I was about to stick my feet into. His response, “I am so sorry for you.” I said nothing, but in my head I could not believe that this complete stranger was telling me they were sorry for my projected career path. Because I am not sorry, and here is why.

In 2009, the fate of the New York Times was uncertain. No one knew how a legacy newspaper would make it work in the digital age. I was twelve years old.

As we see today, the Times has made it into the digital world, and they continue to thrive as a print and online paper.

Yet, in 2016 when I told friends and family that I was going to college to pursue a degree in Journalism, and with my uber driver the other day, I was met with many sympathetic looks and hopes that I had a backup plan.

I do not. And I never have. And surprisingly enough, talking to all these people, I still don’t feel the need to have one. Newspapers are not dying. Journalism is not dying. If anything, journalism is thriving and is more necessary now than ever.

Journalism has been considered the fourth estate, as in, the fourth branch of government that keeps Washington in check. I want to be a part of that. My desire to dive into this “risky” career is simply that. I want to be able to make a difference with my words. I want to get it right and get it first.

I think the works that journalists do, and I hope to continue one day is detrimental to our nation’s success. Especially where we are now.

So to the family, friends, and uber drivers, please save your sympathetic looks and “words of wisdom” my mind is and has been made up.

Our nation needs factual, passionate Journalists, and that is exactly what I intend on being.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Coffee N' Curls

bottom of page